Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer

Sustainability Innovation Award

APPA’s Sustainability Innovation Award in Facilities Management is designed to recognize and promote unique and innovative sustainable practices in the educational facilities and campus environments. It is awarded to educational institutions that have implemented a significant or transformative program and/or processes that enhance service delivery, lower costs, create a green and/or sustainable environment, or otherwise benefit the educational institution supporting student success and environmental stewardship.

Nominations and Application submittals for the 2020 year will open immediately following the APPA Annual Meeting & Exposition for both Institutional and Individual Awards. Final submittals for both will close November 30th 11:59pm EST.


The Sustainability Innovation Award in Facilities Management is open to any APPA Institutional member. Multi-campus or state systems may submit applications for system-wide or individual merit.


Institutions that wish to be considered for the Sustainability Innovation Award in Facilities Management must submit electronic application materials to APPA no later than November 30, 2018.

Final evaluation regarding the Award will be made some time in April/May and will be submitted for approval to APPA’s Board of Directors. Award recipients will be recognized at APPA’s annual conference banquet in August of the same year. Other sustainable recognition actions will be included to provide additional exposure for the award recipient, including the request for each winning institution to provide the committee with 5 to 15 photos of sustainability practices on their campus.


Award nomination entries must describe either one new program or a significant restructuring of an existing program or process. Up to five ranked submissions will be eligible for a non-cash award.

Up to five winners may be selected. Winning entries will receive special recognition at APPA’s annual conference, on the APPA website, and in the Facilities Manager magazine.

  1. Innovativeness, Creativity, and Originality (300 pts)
  2. Sustainability (300 pts total with up to 100 pts awarded for each category below)
    1. Economic Benefit (100 pts)
    2. Environmental Benefit (100 pts)
    3. Societal Benefit (100 pts)
  3. Adaptability and Transferability (150 pts)
  4. Institutional and Community Benefit (150 pts)
  5. Management Commitment and Employee/Student Involvement (100 pts)
  6. Documentation and Analysis (100 pts)


Sustainability Innovation Award: In keeping with the concept of sustainability, the actual award will be represented in the following format;

  • Receive primary feature/exposure with an article in Facilities Manager magazine
  • Formal accolades and announcement at the APPA Annual Reception
  • Formal electronic letters to the executive leadership at the institution and an award plaque produced sustainably for each award recipient.

Submitting Materials

A complete award submission consists of the following parts:

  1. Completed application form.
  2. An introductory abstract of no more than 200 words.
  3. Narrative of no more than five pages each for the six award criteria areas.
  4. A list of supporting materials for each of the six criteria. This is simply a listing of the documentation that supports statements made in the narrative. DO NOT INCLUDE THE ACTUAL DOCUMENTS WITH YOUR SUBMISSION. Instead, you should be prepared to make the listed documents available electronically to award reviewers upon request.

Past Recipients

University of Calgary
Central Michigan University
James Madison University
Simon Fraser University
San Jose State University

The Ohio State University 
University of British Columbia 
Arizona State University
University of Washington Bothell
San Mateo County Community College District

Portland Community College
Elon University
George Washington University
Colorado State University
Ohio University
University of Michigan
University of Virginia
Spelman College

San Diego Community College District
Slippery Rock University

Black Hills State University 
North Carolina State University
Penn State University
San Mateo County Community College District
University of Rochester

Duke University 
Oberlin College 
Philadelphia University 
University of Colorado/Boulder 
University of Iowa

American University
Emory University
University of British Columbia 
University of California, Irvine
University of Prince Edward Island